WCM shows spare tire low error.
  1. Welcome to Chrysler 200 Forum : Chrysler 200 Forums – General discussion forum for Toyota Trucks

    Welcome to Chrysler 200 Forum : Chrysler 200 Forums - a website dedicated to all things Chrysler 200.

    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join Chrysler 200 Forum : Chrysler 200 Forums today!
     
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: WCM shows spare tire low error.

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    156
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

    Default WCM shows spare tire low error.

    I have a 2013 200 Limited. Every time I start the engine it displays a "spare tire low pressure" warning. I press the "Menu" button and the error goes away until the next start. I took it to the dealer and they said I need a new WCM board at $400 installed. Can't that board be refreshed, or reflashed to reset that error?

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Chrysler 200 Forum
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member shamrock249's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Guelph Ontario.
    Posts
    733
    Thanks
    90
    Thanked 116 Times in 85 Posts

    Default

    Well that answers my question as to whether the spare tire has a sensor in it. I guess it does.
    2015 Chrysler 200 Ltd - Built 03/15 - Vivid Blue
    Gold plan 419 ext warranty
    3.6L
    8.4A System with Nav
    Comfort Group
    Optional 18" Satin Silver Rims with 235/45/18 Tires
    Hidden Content
    Winter Rims; Hidden Content with Hidden Content . 225/50/18
    35% Tint
    Yellow gas cap
    Added Cargo Net & Hidden Content
    Replaced the Brake Lights With Hidden Content

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    106
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 33 Times in 23 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shamrock249 View Post
    Well that answers my question as to whether the spare tire has a sensor in it. I guess it does.
    Maybe newer years, but 2011 sure doesn't. I recently had a flat, got early warning when the low pressure alarm went off. Seems I ran over someone's ignition key, fully embedded. When I installed the spare, the car continued to read the zero pressure in the flat tire, no reading for the spare that was installed.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    Chrysler 200 Forum
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    156
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shamrock249 View Post
    Well that answers my question as to whether the spare tire has a sensor in it. I guess it does.
    The spare tire does not have a sensor. It is just a temporary doughnut.

  7. #5
    Super Moderator Black Knight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO USA
    Posts
    2,345
    Thanks
    1,087
    Thanked 374 Times in 300 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sjrw11 View Post
    I have a 2013 200 Limited. Every time I start the engine it displays a "spare tire low pressure" warning.
    Quote Originally Posted by sjrw11 View Post
    The spare tire does not have a sensor. It is just a temporary doughnut.

  8. #6
    Junior Member larry_thagr81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    California
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sjrw11 View Post
    The spare tire does not have a sensor. It is just a temporary doughnut.
    True, I had to use my spare once and my TPS displayed "0" for the spare as well.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to larry_thagr81 For This Useful Post:

    Black Knight (07-09-2019)

  10. #7
    Super Moderator Black Knight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Denver, CO USA
    Posts
    2,345
    Thanks
    1,087
    Thanked 374 Times in 300 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by larry_thagr81 View Post
    True, I had to use my spare once and my TPS displayed "0" for the spare as well.
    Glad you stated that. It was likely obvious to everyone else but I honestly pictured a warning on the display that actually said "spare tire pressure low" on the display.. LOL.

    Oh well. Sometimes Captain Obvious is really a super hero for me - like losing your sunglasses, looking for them and they are on your neck or whatever...

+ Reply to Thread

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

List your make, model & engine spec

Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.3.0