Chrysler 200 Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All. When driving on the highway, the engine temperature in my 2013 200 (4cyl) starts to creep up. It has gone as high as the "3/4" hash, so not overheating, but definitely a cause for concern. When this happened, I turned the heater on and the temperature quickly dropped down to normal. I continued to experiment while driving by turning the heater off again, and I watched the thermostat climb. I added coolant to max level and it helped a bit, but it still creeps up, just not quite as hot. Temperature stays normal during local driving.

I plan to get it checked out, but I'm curious as to possible root causes behind the issue. I'm a bit afraid the mechanic will not be able to replicate the issue as it doesn't pop up until ive been driving at highway speeds for greater than 20-25min. Overall, I feel the temperature fluctuates more than it should, even when in the normal range. I had the battery checked yesterday by Pep Boys and was told it was "perfect." I don't trust Pep Boys, so I haven't eliminated battery as the root cause. The battery is easily over 3 years old.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm not a frequent user of this forum, but it is extremely valuable and I am happy the support is out there.

FYI - I recently had the ETC replaced. Not saying that is the issue, just want to share.

·
Premium Member
2016 Chrysler 200 S, 1998 Sebring JX
421 Posts
The symptoms that you describe are similar to what happened when the radiator in my Sebring needed replacement.
They are an aluminum core and once the hard corrosion and scale starts, they really can't be flushed.
Are you using the correct coolant (OAT?) meeting Chrysler MS-90032 and is it in the correct 50/50 concentration? You don't mention mileage, but has cooling system scheduled maintenance been performed?
Always diagnose first.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3