Chrysler 200 Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good morning! It has been a good while since my last post (some three years ago).

I have a 2013 Chrysler 200 V6 that now has 202,000 miles on it. I drive a lot. Most of it is highway mileage. I now live in the country and have some country backroads (45 - 55mph) to navigate.

I am fairly good at taking care of my car. I am no mechanic, but I do enjoy working on my car. Well, I am getting older so I recently decided that I am not going to mess with that any longer so all work will be done by a professional. I do tend to purchase my own parts, however (from RockAuto.com).

I have had older, high mileage cars before (my last two cars fit that bill) and around the 200,000 mile marker things start to fail. I would like to avoid that with this car.

What would a sound plan of attack be to replace parts - and in what specific order - so as to be pro-active vs. reactive (breaking down on a county road far away from everything is a bit of a PITA, to be honest). Don't have a ton of money for this, but do indeed budget some $100 a month for "Car Maintenance". Currently have $145 in that "envelope".

Recent Activity:
1. 3,000 miles ago I replaced all four tires.
2. 10,000 miles ago I replaced the rear, driver-side wheel bearing (was shot).
3. 10,000 miles ago I replaced the two front calipers (the driver-side caliper was sticking).
4. 18,000 miles ago I replaced the thermostat and performed a coolant flush.
5. 22,000 miles ago I replaced the coils and spark plugs.

I change the oil every 12,000 to 15,000 miles (I use the Mobil or Penzoil Full Synthetic 15,000 Mile Oil) and I replace the Oil Filter (I use the Mopar or the STP 'regular' Oil Filters) every 4,000 miles.

I am about to replace both front and back Brake Pads.

I appreciate any and all input. Thank you!!!!

·
Super Moderator
2016 Chrysler 200 S, 1998 Sebring JX
1,513 Posts