Chrysler 200 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
445 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All! I have some comments on my experience w drilled and slotted rotors.
So I purchased EBC "red stuff" ceramic pads and Powerstop drilled and slotted rotors and changed fluid too synthetic for a little upgrade and cool looks.
My wheels are a mess w tons of dust! 7000 mi (so much for little dust w ceramic)
My conclusion is the slots are too aggressive for street driving.There purpose is too keep the pads clean for a clean bite when on the brakes hard.
Im cleaning my wheels every week! Im thinking the slots are taking too much pad material off, which is going too shorten there life.
Looking fwd too your comments. Thanks!

Screenshot_2020-11-16-09-34-08.png

Reactions: fltru103

·
Super Moderator
2,000 Posts
I have replaced my rotors and pads with Wagner parts on our 200. Didn't need the extreme braking power that comes from slotted rotors.
I have enough to clean on my other car which has slotted rotors with Brembo's. Talk about dust !

·
Registered
445 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have replaced my rotors and pads with Wagner parts on our 200. Didn't need the extreme braking power that comes from slotted rotors.
I have enough to clean on my other car which has slotted rotors with Brembo's. Talk about dust !
Sounds like its because of the slots. Thanks!

·
2016 Chrysler 200 S, 1998 Sebring JX
637 Posts
I think that if drilled & slotted rotors had real benefits, we would see them on OEM performance brakes like SRT, etc.
We don't. My feeling is that they just aren't worth it.
I do like the ceramic pads for my daily driving. I buy the conventional white box, store brand rotors.

·
Super Moderator
2,000 Posts
I think that if drilled & slotted rotors had real benefits, we would see them on OEM performance brakes like SRT, etc.
We don't. My feeling is that they just aren't worth it.