Chrysler 200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
Any thoughts on E88 for the 200 v6? I have been using it for a few months now on my flex fuel v6 and see no difference between that and the normal 87 except about 10 cents per gal cheaper. Is it bad for my engine? Should I stop using it?

·
Super Moderator
2,618 Posts
E85 IS NOT bad for your engine, it's far cleaner than gasoline, in fact if you have used only gasoline for say 75K miles etc.., it's recommended to run 50/50 mix at first cause of the deposits left by gasoline are cleaned up by the ethanol and could clog the fuel injectors if you run 100% E85.

Performance - on the Facebook page for 200's dyno proven 25ft.lbs of torque more to the wheels with E85 vs E10 87 octane.

Economy - that all depends on the price spread between E85 and whatever grade of gasoline you use. If the price is identical, gasoline will save you money. 20-30% worse fuel economy on E85.

The 2015+ 200 V6 AWD is 16MPG mixed city/highway on E85 and 22MPG mixed city/highway gasoline according to EPA.

I use E85 for the most of the time it's far less expensive than gasoline here and I like the performance - that and I can say to all the Prius tree hugging hippies that my car is more friendly to the environment than theirs because I get about 75+MPG - of gasoline, and alcohol (ethanol) exhaust is carbon dioxide and water vapor not carbon monoxide. The only thing I don't like is having to fill up more often, even before I started using it I thought the tank was small on the 200.

If the temp outside gets below say 0 degrees Fahrenheit I use gasoline because the colder it is, the harder it is to ignite ethanol. Owners manual recommends to not use it below a certain temp - not sure what that is but things are different here at 5280 feet above sea level, so it may be a warmer temp than 0 Fahrenheit.