Chrysler 200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I am not very good with cars mechanics and such. I was driving my car on the highway doing about 80, when it popped up on my dash "Engine Temperature Hot" and also "service electronic throttle control". My coolant temperature doesn't pass 170 degrees and my heat blows out cold air. Can someone lead me in the direction of what could be wrong? My coolant is topped off, i thought that was the problem but I went and filled it up..and still having this problem. Any thoughts or anything would be good. Im only 23, college student on my own so I don't want to go to chrysler and they over charge me for something simple. So I would like to see if you guys know what might be going on. Thank you.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
1,820 Posts
If still under warranty, go to the dealer. Otherwise you don't have many options, get someone to read the code for you and start from there.

Reactions: chxlsev

·
Registered
254 Posts
Try to unplug then re-plug in the throttle body connector and the coolant temp sensor. Might be that simple. Do it with everything off. Typically if you have a hot coolant code with full coolant and you haven't drained or flushed it, it's not an air bubble which is common. But, that happened to my wife's impala and I had to purge the bubble out. Was a weird issue.

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Try to unplug then re-plug in the throttle body connector and the coolant temp sensor. Might be that simple. Do it with everything off. Typically if you have a hot coolant code with full coolant and you haven't drained or flushed it, it's not an air bubble which is common. But, that happened to my wife's impala and I had to purge the bubble out. Was a weird issue.
Where can i find this? The throttle body connector? Or the coolant temp sensor?

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #9