Chrysler 200 Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey so i started my car this afternoon. All was normal untill i put it in reverse and the check engine light came on i dont have a code for it havent moved it since the light came on. the oil temp gauge isnt reading anything and the trans temp seems to be running on the low side (67 degrees) but its also about 55 degrees out side to day. the trans ran a little rough this morning when i ran it but no light was on then so i just took it slow and steady, and she eventually ran pretty smoothly the rest of the trip untill just now the light came on engine sounds normal just got the oil changed and tires replaced and am afraid small town mechanic screwed me over and did something to the car so i would have to go back over and over again. im new to lerarning cars and am very anxious to mess with anything so any info you guys can give or better questions to ask would be great!

·
2016 Chrysler 200 S, 1998 Sebring JX
637 Posts
Welcome to the forums. It is still OK to drive as long as the oil pressure is good. The PCM needs to know oil temperature in order to predict cam timing and valve rocker reaction time. Possibly a disconnected or broken sensor wire?
What year and engine?
The ZF 9-speed does run cooler than conventional transaxles.

·
Registered
51 Posts
A few thoughts to help with troubleshooting - I'm sure others will have more advice:

1. I would check the oil, both quantity and type (whatever weight is specified on the oil cap, verify is what was put in) before moving it. Probably nothing, but I'd start here given that you just had that changed.
2. Go to Autozone/Advance/Oreilly/Napa and have them pull the code(s) - they do this for free. If nothing is wrong in step one, I'm going to bet the code is for an oil temperature sensor. That could be the cause of the oil temperature not reading. Either that or some type of wiring issue.