Chrysler 200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My apologies for what is going to be a lengthy post – I just cannot figure this out and want to provide as much detail as possible. I am not a mechanic, but I’m no stranger to auto maintenance – I’ve probably done this exact same thing at least 50 times over the years.

Over the weekend, I put all new pads and rotors on my wife’s new-to-us 2013 200 Convertible Touring. After wrapping up, I went to take it for a test run and after approx. 500 feet (50’ of that in reverse), the driver side outside rear pad fell out into my driveway. There was no obvious damage to the pad or caliper, so I put the old pad in and went for a ride. I made it less than a mile (including another 50’ in reverse) and the passenger side outside rear pad (also a new one) fell off. This time, one of the 2 spring clips that secure it to the caliper was snapped off. I then took everything back off and re-installed the old outside pads on both rear wheels. I took it for a rather spirited ride of about 5 miles with lots of braking. I checked the pads at a few spots along the way and everything seemed to be staying in place. When I got home, I decided to back down my half-mile driveway – it is quite steep, so I was on the brakes quite a bit. When I got back, the driver side pad was fine, but the passenger side had slid about .5-.75” down. It is still in the caliper, but the top clip is no longer making contact and the lower clip is pushed all the way down (the counter-clockwise rotation of the wheel in reverse would account for this). I have attached photos - they are not the best since the they were taken with the wheel still mounted, but it should give you an idea.