Chrysler 200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone else had issues with their 200 sporadically not starting properly? The several times it happened to me, it almost sounds like the engine is not getting gas. It tries to start and after several attemps, finally fires but for the first 10 - 15 second after it fires, it has a really bad tapping noise.

·
Premium Member
761 Posts
Sorry to hear about your problem Nettrekker, but I can't say that I've noticed a problme with mine starting at all.

I'm no mechanic, but perhaps its the fuel pump? Or maybe even the type of gas that you are using?

I know that we can use the low octane gas, but there is low octane from a reputable gas company and then there is low octane sold out of drum in a back lot somewhere?

We have half a dozen big name brand gas stations in Canada that I will go to, but I avoid the lesser known ones for the problems that you are experiencing......of course I'm not saying that's what your problem is, just offering a suggestions.

·
Registered
202 Posts
since these new cars are all computerized maybe it could be the air/fuel mixture the computer is allowing in the engine isn't sufficient enough.

Do you have any lights on your dash?

Try using a higher octane fuel, maybe it will help give your engine that extra kick it needs.

I hope your having luck with the issue, keep us updated

·
Registered
450 Posts
Sounds like H20 in the gas tank.

·
Registered
35 Posts
A buddy of mine at the dealer told me he found a TSB on long crank time while he was looking to see if there was anything on the transmission.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Engine Starting issues

Has anyone else had issues with their 200 sporadically not starting properly? The several times it happened to me, it almost sounds like the engine is not getting gas. It tries to start and after several attempt, finally fires but for the first 10 - 15 second after it fires, it has a really bad tapping noise.